Agricultural Economics

Prof. Onwuchekwa Raphael Iheke

H. O. D Agric. Economics

Welcome Message

I welcome you to the Department of Agricultural Economics page. The Department is one of the three departments in the college of Agricultural Economics, Rural Sociology and Extension (CAERSE) at the inception of the university. There were fourteen (14) pioneer students admitted into the college in the 1993/94 academic session. At the end of their fourth year nine (9) of the students opted for Agricultural Economics. However, the numerical strength of the department has grown currently for both undergraduates and postgraduates students.

The head of departments from inception are as follows:

1.      Prof. A.C.  Nwosu                                           1994-1998

2.      Prof. C.E Onyenweaku                                   1998-2000

3.      Prof. D.O Ukoha                                             2000-2002

4.      Prof. J.O. Mbanasor                                       2002-2004

5.      Prof. R.N. Echebiri                                         2004-2006

6.      Prof. J.C Nwaru                                              2006-2008

7.      Prof. D.O Ukoha                                             2008-2009

8.      Prof. R.O Mejeha                                            2009-2011

9.      Dr. U.A.U. Onyebinama                                  2011-2014

10.    Dr. J.B Simonyan                                           2014 till date

Agricultural Economics Department